Reviews

/Reviews
Reviews2018-07-23T08:32:33+00:00
  • Jürgen & Wiebke, June 2018

    “In short, once you are there you never want to leave again! A fantastic place to stay that has everything you could possibly need and more! Our highest recommendation!

  • Adam, May 2018

    I have been to Mull a few times recently and really love it. I’ve previously stayed in Tobermory, so it was really exciting change to be able to stay at the newly opened Rubha Nan Gall Lighthouse Cottages, and what a truly amazing experience it was.

    It’s the perfect place to get away from it all, with it’s own fairytale footpath from Tobermory. The cottages are ideal for those who travel light and love to take walks with such amazing views and fascinating wildlife too. The walk to the Lighthouse is a surprisingly popular tourist activity in itself during the daylight hours. At night the cottages are wonderfully isolated and incredibly peaceful.

    The cottages have been refurbished to an exceptionally high standard with the perfect mix of modern and original features. Each bedroom has en-suite facilities which a major bonus, with amazingly comfortable beds too. The ’signature’ room has the most incredible views over the lighthouse and the Sound of Mull which is just an unbelievable way to wake up if you are able to bag that room!

    The kitchen has just about all the equipment you might need, from toaster to dishwasher, and is a lovely rustic place to share a meal and talk of the day’s adventures.The sitting room is wonderfully cosy and on the rare occasion that Scotland is on the cool side the open fire is a must.

    Some great environmentally friendly touches have been incorporated too (such as it’s own supply of spring water, solar panels to charge the generator, environmentally friendly toiletries provided etc.) which are a major feature of these beautiful cottages for the environmentally conscious. On the other hand the Wifi works great throughout the property, whilst you may have to go for a little walk to get a mobile signal (mine worked about 50 yards away!) so you can even get away from your mobile for a few hours.

    I could go on for pages about these wonderful cottages, as I had such a truly unforgettable experience there.

    If you are looking for a little slice of perfection and a chance to get away from it all then go to Rubha Nan Gall Lighthouse Cottages, I am sure you will have an unforgettable experience. I will be back every chance I get.”

  • Rob, May 2018

    “It’s been 20 years since my last visit to Mull and my desire to return has probably lasted just as long so when I had the opportunity to visit last month I didn’t think twice. We had the good fortune to have Rubha nan Gall lighthouse keeper’s cottage as our home from home for the week and what an inspired choice that turned out to be. Recently renovated to a very high standard, Alexa has done an astounding job in creating the perfect hideaway whilst also providing an extremely comfortable base from which to explore Mull’s many charms. A big part of the cottage’s appeal was the feeling you were staying at the edge of the world. There is no road access here (there’s ample free parking in town) and the final approach is a stunning twenty minute walk from Scotland’s colour capital, Tobermory. During May the coastal path is fringed with bluebells and wild garlic and there is something quite magical about heading ‘up the path’ at the end of the day as the sun sets across the water over the Ardnamurchan peninsula.

    Evenings outside with a cheeky bottle of red listening to the rhythms of the ocean and the chatter of oystercatchers under a pastel sky is just one of the memories I will take away from this island paradise. Do yourself a favour – just visit!”

  • Lizzie & Martin, September 2017

    “Stunning location and fabulous accommodation, thanks a million!”

  • Gayle & Steve, July 2017

    “Thank you so much Alexa. Rubha nan Gall is such a very special place and we’ve loved every minute here. The location and isolation is bliss. We loved our walks to and from the cottage and coming back to the sunsets at the end of the day was fabulous. The cottage is just beautiful, you have done such an immense job with such a lot of thought and care – it has been tremendously luxurious. We have loved the rock pools and the whale spotting, though the minke evaded us this time!”

  • Gary Fletcher, Trac Engineering, Northern Lighthouse Board, June 2017

    “It’s been a great pleasure staying here whilst carrying out works on the Lighthouse. We couldn’t ask for better accommodation or location, it ranks right up there out of the 70+ lighthouses visited so far! Thank you so much for being a brilliant host, always smiling.”

  • Scottish Association for Marine Science Research Team, October 2016

    “Now officially baptised as a harbour porpoise lighthouse field station, perfect for research and social activities alike.  After 4 weeks we can honestly say we don’t want to leave! You’ve done an amazing job in the cottage and the views are just spectacular!”

Add your review

error: Content is protected !!